India-Australia Test series to start on Feb 23 in Pune!Cricket

October 21, 2016 12:04
India-Australia Test series to start on Feb 23 in Pune!

The BCCI announced venues for India’s four-match series against Australia beginning February 23. Pune, Ranchi and Dharamsala will be hosting Test matches for the first time.

The teams will open their campaign in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy with the first Test in Pune from February 23 to 27. The series will then move to Bengaluru, which will host the second game from March 4-8.

The last two matches will be played in the two new Test centres Ranchi and Dharamsala  from March 16-20 and March 25-29 respectively.

The last time Australia toured India for a Test series, the hosts whitewashed them 4-0 in 2013 to win the Border-Gavaskar trophy. But Australia claimed in back when they beat India 2-0 in a four-match Test series in Australia in 2014-15. This series was held just after the death of Phil Hughes.

The three centres which had hosted One-day Internationals and T20 Internationals in the past were accorded Test status last November.

Test series schedule:

1st Test
February 23-27, Pune

2nd Test
March 4-8, Bengaluru

3rd Test
March 16-20, Ranchi

4th Test
March 24-28, Dharamsala

Also Read: BCCI threatens to call off NZ series, Lodha clarifies on directive to banks!


If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)